«#7885 (Electropunk to Technopop 1978 – 1985)» - new compilation from Cabaret Voltaire Print E-mail
Written by alex davie   
Thursday, 08 May 2014 15:53

Cabaret Voltaire - «#7885 (Electropunk to Technopop 1978 – 1985)»

UK legends Cabaret Voltaire release a new compilation «#7885 (Electropunk to Technopop 1978 – 1985)» on June 23rd, 2014. «#7885 (Electropunk to Technopop 1978 – 1985)» compiles two distinct periods of Cabaret Voltaire1978-81 and 1983-85 – for the first time together on one release.

Featuring classic tracks such as «Nag Nag Nag», «Do The Mussolini», «Sensoria», «Landslide», «I Want You» and «Just Fascination», «#7885 (Electropunk to Technopop 1978 – 1985)» was curated by Richard H Kirk who explains, «I decided to gather the more concise elements of the work… Hence the choice of 7” singles, edits and shorter album tracks, a kind of sound bite take on CV.»

The compilation travels from 1978-81 with a line up of Richard H Kirk, Stephen Mallinder and Chris Watson, when Cabaret Voltaire were (mostly) recording at the Western Works Studios in Sheffield and releasing records on Rough Trade and from 1983- 85 after Watson’s departure when Kirk and Mallinder released via the Some Bizzare label on Virgin Records. Kirk points out that this «was a time where we got to do what we do, but in different areas, we wanted to push the boundaries of electronic music, we wanted to place what we were doing into places where it really shouldn’t be. We certainly didn’t want to carry on repeating what we’d done for the ten years previous.»

Cabaret Voltaire formed in 1973 and, alongside Human League, Throbbing Gristle, Fad Gadget and The Normal, were at the forefront of the UK Electronic Movement of the late ’70s. Way ahead of their time, Cabaret Voltaire’s blend of dance music, techno, dub, house and experimental made them, without a doubt, one of the most influential acts of the last 40 years.

The release features sleevenotes from Cabaret Voltaire’s Richard H Kirk and Mute founder Daniel Miller and is available as on CD (cat.no.: CABS26CD), Double vinyl and Digital Download on June 23rd, 2014.


01. Do The Mussolini
02. The Set Up
03. Nag Nag Nag
04. On Every Other Street
05. Silent Command
06. Kneel To The Boss
07. Seconds Too Late
08. Landslide
09. Breath Deep
10. Just Fascination (7" Version)
11. Crackdown (Radio Edit 83)
12. Animation
13. The Dream Ticket (7" Version)
14. Sensoria (7" Version)
15. James Brown (7" Version)
16. Kino (7'" Version)
17. Big Funk (7" Version)
18. I Want You (7" Version)
19. Warm

Info submitted by Mute Records.

Last Updated on Thursday, 08 May 2014 16:10

Add comment

Security code

Facebook Comments

Language Selection


We @ Instagram

We @ YouTube

We @ Twitter

We @ Facebook

Upcoming Releases

Upcoming Events

We @ Facebook

Latest Comments

  • Front Line Assembly
    Внимание! Перенос концерта! Новая дата 11.03.2021. More...
    10.09.20 20:23
    by davie
  • Front 242
    Концерт FRONT 242 снова переносится! Новая дата: 9 мая 2021 года! В связи с закрытием клуба «Театръ» меняется и место проведения. Front 242 выступят 9 мая 2021 года в клубе «Arbat Hall. More...
    10.09.20 20:22
    by davie
  • IAMX
    Российский тур IAMX неизбежно переносится на 2021 год. Новая дата выступлений в Москве - 8 апреля 2021 – Vegas City Hall. More...
    10.09.20 20:21
    by davie
  • IAMX
    В связи со сложившейся ситуацией в мире на фоне эпидемии covid-19 и ограничениями на проведение массовых мероприятий, концерты IAMX в России были перенесены. Новые даты выступлений: 01.10.2020 – Москв... More...
    11.08.20 19:23
    by davie

Latest Forum Posts

No posts to display.


New SHOUT! Night party?

Who Is Online

We have 70 guests online


Members : 388
Content : 444
Web Links : 132
Content View Hits : 3639959

Home | RSS Feed Design by : alex davie