«The Sound Of Music» - new album from Laibach! Print E-mail
Written by alex davie   
Thursday, 06 September 2018 11:57

«The Sound Of Music» - new album from Laibach!

Slovenian alternative heroes Laibach just announced details of their new album, «The Sound Of Music», out  on November 23rd, 2018 via Mute Records. It will be available as CD (cat. no.: LCDSTUMM430), vinyl (cat. no.: STUMM430) and Digital Download.

«The Sound Of Music» was conceived when Laibach were invited to perform in North Korea in 2015. The band performed several songs from the 1965 original film’s soundtrack at the concert in Pyongyang, chosen by Laibach as it’s a well-known and beloved film in the DPRK and often used by schoolchildren to learn English. Laibach are joined by Boris Benko (Silence) and Marina Mårtensson on vocals and the album gives the Laibach treatment to tracks such as «My Favorite Things», «Edelweiss», «Do-Re-Mi» and «Maria», here reworked as «Maria / Korea» (“How do you solve a problem like Maria / Korea?”).

While the majority of the tracks on the album are from original OST, the band also included «Arirang», an interpretation of a traditional Korean folk song considered the unofficial national anthem of both North and South Korea (and released recently to mark the historic summit in Singapore between President Donald Trump and the leader of North Korea, Kim Jong-un), as well as their own workout of the «Gayageum» (reworked as «The Sound of Gayageum»), a traditional Korean zither-like string instrument performed by students from the Kum Song Music School in Pyongyang and a recording of the band’s welcome speech to Korea from Mr. Ryu from the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea Committee for Cultural Relations.

Laibach’s groundbreaking performance in North Korea was documented by director, artist and cultural diplomat, Morten Traavik in the film «Liberation Day».

The album was recorded and produced in Ljubljana, Slovenia and in Pyongyang, DPRK and represents another successful collaboration between Laibach and Silence (Boris Benko and Primož Hladnik), who previously co-created Laibach’s «Volk» (2006).

The cover was created by Valnoir, who has previously collaborated with Laibach.

Track list:

01. The Sound of Music

02. Climb Ev'ry Mountain

03. Do-Re-Mi

04. Edelweiss

05. Favorite Things

06. Lonely Goatherd

07. Sixteen Going On Seventeen

08. So Long, Farewell

09. Maria / Korea

10. Arirang

11. The Sound of Gayageum

12. Welcome Speech

In other news: Laibach will present their recent works («Also Sprach Zarathustra» and «The Sound Of Music») in Russia during two October concerts in St. Petersburg and Moscow.

Info submited by Mute Records.

Last Updated on Thursday, 06 September 2018 12:57

Add comment

Security code

Facebook Comments

Language Selection


We @ Instagram

We @ YouTube

We @ Twitter

We @ Facebook

Upcoming Releases

Upcoming Events

We @ Facebook

Latest Comments

  • Front Line Assembly
    Внимание! Перенос концерта! Новая дата 11.03.2021. More...
    10.09.20 20:23
    by davie
  • Front 242
    Концерт FRONT 242 снова переносится! Новая дата: 9 мая 2021 года! В связи с закрытием клуба «Театръ» меняется и место проведения. Front 242 выступят 9 мая 2021 года в клубе «Arbat Hall. More...
    10.09.20 20:22
    by davie
  • IAMX
    Российский тур IAMX неизбежно переносится на 2021 год. Новая дата выступлений в Москве - 8 апреля 2021 – Vegas City Hall. More...
    10.09.20 20:21
    by davie
  • IAMX
    В связи со сложившейся ситуацией в мире на фоне эпидемии covid-19 и ограничениями на проведение массовых мероприятий, концерты IAMX в России были перенесены. Новые даты выступлений: 01.10.2020 – Москв... More...
    11.08.20 19:23
    by davie

Latest Forum Posts

No posts to display.


New SHOUT! Night party?

Who Is Online

We have 55 guests online


Members : 376
Content : 444
Web Links : 132
Content View Hits : 3599387

Home | RSS Feed Design by : alex davie